IMG00128

Isn’t that a great picture? I posted it for two reasons.

I like it. It’s a cool picture AND the saying is something I believe to be true.  True, there are people who drive us crazy, who try our very souls, but for the most part, we need to try to find something good about the folks around us. We’re all in this together, and working interdependently as part of a unified, cooperative whole is better than bickering, backbiting, and belittling. How’s that for alliteration? Whenever I come across someone whom I absolutely cannot abide, I give them plenty of space. Why make myself miserable?

The other reason I like it is because of the super way it was framed last week. I was visiting Myrtle Beach, and before I left I went to the Frame Factory on King’s Highway to leave the Andy Warhol poster (above). I LOVE the service, advice, tastefulness, and reasonable pricing of the business, and for the past eight or nine years, I’ve taken all of my prints and posters there to be framed. I’ve even sent them several other pleased customers. 

Last Friday I took the poster in, and within minutes, the gentleman who was working that day and I had agreed upon the frame. The employees really know their stuff there, and many times I have gone it with my mind settled on a certain “look,” only to have it changed by someone at the Frame Factory with a different and better idea.  When I told the man that I wouldn’t be back in the area for a couple or three weeks but that my daughter would pick the picture up, he asked if I’d be around through Saturday. If so, he’d have it ready by then. “No, I’m leaving as soon as I leave your shop,” I said. He then asked if I could find something to do for 15 to 20 minutes. If so, he’d go ahead and frame Andy and his pithy words then and there.

It’s not as though the shop needed the business; it’s just that the employees aim to please. That’s why they’re so successful! That and the fact that they all have expertise in color, design, texture, and taste. If you’re anywhere near Myrtle Beach and need to have something framed, it’s worth the drive.  And the poster? I ordered it from AllPosters.com for $7.95. Isn’t that a great price? Oh, and in case you’re curious, it cost $16.30 (or thereabouts) to have it framed.

