new-york-08-051new-york-08-060new-york-08-063new-york-08-042

new-york-08-021

I snapped these other pictures because they’re of sights not seen in my sleepy little town, and I wanted to remember that somewhere there’s an Elmo standing on a busy sidewalk. I love furry little Elmo. When I move the Elmo chair I bought for the grandchildren, he giggles and says, “Elmo loves you.” We also saw Minnie Mouse and the Tin Man standing around.

Before going inside of Macy’s, we stood staring at the decorated windows like the awe-struck tourists that we were. Look closely at this cool picture, and you can see Judy’s face reflected in the tree. Her nose has an ornament on it.

I’ve been  taking my Macy’s bag to work this week. I didn’t want to use it for fear of getting it dirty or worn looking, but then I thought, “What in the heck am I saving it for?” It’s black and gray with gold and gray stars all over it. When Jeanita and I bought them, we talked about how they’d remind of the Christmas season and the star over Bethlehem, the “stellar” qualities that all women have, and the hustle and bustle of Macy’s itself. I love it…just like I loved the time in Macy’s.  A young Korean couple took our picture, and I took one of them and their sweet baby. We rode the escalator to the top just so we could say we rode the wooden ones, and we did a little shopping too.

Speaking of shopping, we looked all through Macy’s for just the right scarves to take back to family in SC, but none were just what I was looking for.  After we left there, however, we came across dozens of vendors on the street. We finally stopped at one near Rockefeller Center, and with Jeanita’s helpful guidance, I selected ones for Carrie, Elizabeth, Paul, Amanda, Donna, and Jayne. As far as I know, everyone is enjoying them, especially after I gave the lesson on scarf tying (?) and explained that these scarves had come directly from the streets of NY.

The Time’s Square picture speaks for itself…as does the adorable big red M & M. The picture of the American Society of Buddhist studies is one that I snapped in Chinatown for my brother who ribs me about worshipping Buddha (ha ha). I can tell him that I worship God and His beloved son Jesus Christ until I’m blue in the face, but he still hassles me.  After he leaves my home, I almost always have to turn my little Buddha statue, a decorative item from my son, back around the right way. Alas.

Folks, there’s only one more entry I plan to post about the NYC trip. My goals have been to chronicle our goings-on and to motivate some of you who’ve been wanting to go but have been procrastinating.  Have you looked up air fare and hotels on Expedia yet?

