One day this week I walked in the lounge area at work and spied a young woman typing fast and furiously on her laptop. I’d seen her in there a couple of times but had been reluctant to interrupt her. On this particular day, however, I did. 

“Are you writing a paper?” I asked.

“Actually,” she responded, “It’s a novel.”

“How exciting!” I exclaimed. “Tell me about it.”

She told me a little about her work and then added that she had been a avid blogger until she realized that it was keeping her away from the novel. Since that realization, she’d worked steadily on her novel (I’m tempted to tell you the catchy  title, but I better get her permission first). 

Anyway, I was listening to her and thinking that I wished the chicken bog (you Western readers might have to look that one up) would hurry and get warmed up so that I could take it back to my office and nibble at it while blogging. At that exact moment, however, I decided that the blogging obsession needed a recess. If this young woman could diligently use her lunch hour to write, then I could too.  I then took my delectable lunch to my office, shut the door,  and churned out five pages of a “project” that I’ve had in mind for months.

All that to say that while I LOVE blogging, it’s quite time consuming, and it takes me away from some personal projects that I need to move ahead with. I am still going to read your blogs daily and will write one every few days, but I MUST focus on other writing.

Thank you, Young Woman with the Long Dark Hair. Your advice turned on the switch that ended my procrastination. Just as soon as I check out a few of my blogging buddies latest posts, I’m going to….

