I’ve been so serious lately that I’m even boring myself, so in an attempt to lighten up, I’m going to share a quote that Donna gave me at church yesterday and then add a short application to go with it.

“If you cannot read all your books, at any rate handle them…peer into them, let them fall open where they will, read from the first sentence that arrests the eyes, set them back on their shelves with your own hands, arrange them on your own plan so if you do know what is in them, you will at least know where they are. Let them be your friends; let them at any rate be your acquaintance.” Winston Churchill

The reason I like that quote so much is because that’s something I always do. Whether in a bookstore, library, or in my own home, I like to pick up different reading materials and dip into them a bit.  Here’s an example. A couple of weeks ago my daughter Elizabeth and I were in Sam’s waiting for some pictures to be developed, and I went on a reading frenzy in the book and magazine section. I’m not sure whether Churchill would approve of magazines, but nevertheless,  by doing so I learned what not to do if one wants to avoid looking the “o” word (old).

I thought maybe some of you more mature readers might benefit from my newfound knowledge. No more nude panty hose. This was a shock to me, but Elizabeth verified it. “Wear socks, tights, or nothing, ” she insisted. The article also gave advice on lipstick (think pink), cutting and coloring hair, and choosing jeans. The article, based on a book by Charla Krupp, also encouraged women to whiten their teeth and toss their muu muus.  Oh, and as far as jewelry is concerned, no more gold necklaces or chandelier earrings.

So I took Churchill’s advice (without even knowing it) and learned a little bit about a lot of things. I came away feeling enlightened…but a little dowdy too. Not to fret. Elizabeth has promised to go jean shopping with her maturing mom. In the meantime, I’m thinking of ordering the book.

What about those of you out in blogland? Can you (will you) share an experience of something you’ve learned from peering into books or magazines and “reading from the first sentence that arrests the eye?”

