I read somewhere that when asked what he’d learned about life from his many years and experiences, Robert Frost responded, “It goes on.” I’ve been thinking about that a good bit lately as I’ve thought about changes, some good and some not so good.

Right this moment, I’m thinking about the deaths of my parents, grandparents, and friends and how despite our sadness at OUR loss, life does indeed go on. People laugh, sing, eat, dance, have babies, learn to read, drive cars, rake leaves, smell roses, bake cookies, and participate in a multitude of other life experiences despite the loss of loved ones. What other choice do we have?  We can’t quit living, can we? Is that what our dearly departed would want? I think not.

What I really think is that Frost was right in that “it goes on” because it does, not only here on earth but in more celestial spheres as well. I think it was Marianne Williamson who said, “Jesus did not die when He died, and neither do we.” We’ll see our loved ones again; I’m confident of that.

