The last couple of weeks have been SO BUSY that I haven’t had the time to post some of the things that are close to my heart, especially this time of year.

As I ponder the birth of the Savior and what his life and atoning sacrifice mean to us, it makes me want to redouble my efforts to “do good to all men.”  I’m great about taking care of my husband, children, grandchildren, siblings, in-laws, and friends, but what about “those other people?” You know who I’m talking about, don’t you? The people who might not have quite as much $$ as you do. Those who are lonely or old or sick or all three. Those who are away from family and friends. Children without parents. Aren’t all of  these people God’s children too?

This morning I can’t stop thinking about a lady in our neighborhood who’s always walking her dog and “accidently” letting go of the leash, thereby causing the pooch to scamper around in our yard, making it impossible to ignore either of them. She and I have had several conversations because of her little dog, and I can’t remember even one in which I wasn’t rushed or annoyed (at the intrusion on my time). I feel like a selfish creep just saying that. Hmmm. For me, it looks like some “soul work” is in order. It doesn’t matter whether a person is deserving or not. What matters is that we better try to emulate the Savior and His love for others, now and always.

Yesterday I read this quote from Bonnie Parkin on LDS Gems, and it seems perfect for this post. “We must make every effort to follow His supreme example–to demonstrate such love through our thoughts, our speech, our actions–in all the things we do and are. We must not allow pride or vanity, selfishness or personal agendas to displace our reaching out to others in love. Quite simply and profoundly, we must first allow ourselves to be encircled by God’s love. We do this best by embracing the Savior’s eternal Atonement. Then we can expand that circle to include our family and all others. Such a circle is indeed heaven.”  (Bonnie D. Parkin, “Eternally Encircled in His Love,” Ensign, Nov. 2006, 110)

I’m going to bake some cookies for my neighbor. I might even buy one of those cute little sweaters for her dog. What about you? What can you do to better follow Christ’s example?

