Does this strike anyone else as being a little odd? On the way to work this morning, I was listening to the morning news and caught this little item about the increasing numbers of people arrested for “aggressive begging,” defined by the newscaster as out and out asking for money. Here’s the paradoxical part. The punishment for such behavior is either spending 30 days in jail or paying a $500 fine. I was thinking that the former might not necessarily be a bad thing; the mendicant would be warm, fed, sheltered, and free of the need to beg. The latter? Well, that just seems preposterous. How can a person pay a fine so high when he or she can’t even buy a hamburger from Wendy’s without assistance?

I could go on and on about this and related topics (trust me), but I won’t. However, if you get me started with a comment of your own, then….

