I love this time of year! If that sounds a little trite, sorry about that. As I was thinking about Thanksgiving and the multitudinous (yes, that many) things that I have to be thankful for, I also thought about the last part of that word, the “giving” part. While I know that Lincoln set aside the fourth Thursday in November as a specific day in which Americans could gather and thank their Creator for His generous beneficence, tonight I’m concentrating on giving, not just on giving thanks but on giving in general.

A few years ago I read an editorial that contained the phrase “seasonal belch of philanthropy.” I recall staring at the words and actually feeling somewhat offended by them. Why? Because they rang true. There’s just something about this season that makes me feel a little kinder, generous, and more tolerant. But why does it just have to last for a few weeks? Why does it have to be a “seasonal belch” that begins fading on December 26th and pretty much disappears by March?

I don’t know the answers to those questions, but I’ve decided that beginning tomorrow, I’m going to be more purposely giving everyday. I will consciously seek opportunities to speak encouraging words, pay compliments, smile, buy lunch for a friend, or better yet, buy a stranger’s lunch who happens to be behind me in a drive through. Maybe if I do it often enough and long enough, my philanthropy won’t be seasonal.

What about you? Will you join me on this “mission?” Maybe we could share our stories at day’s end.

