What a drop dead gorgeous day this has been, the kind that reminds you of the line, “God’s in His heaven, all’s right with the world.” Although I’ve read similar ideas in other places, Stephen Covey mentions four dimensions of our selves that we need to dip into everyday if we want to be happy and truly effective, and I think the fact that I’ve managed to do this today is one reason for my high spirits.

The four areas are spiritual, physical, mental, and social/emotional, and here’s how I experienced them:

  • Physical. I woke up rested, and that’s quite a blessing. To be able to sleep eight hours is such a rarity that I’d almost forgot how great it can feel. I ate lunch with my sister-in-law Lisa, and I ate my chicken salad on wheat bread and opted for fruit as a side. Mmmm. Those potato chips looked tempting, but I was into my physical “fourth” at that time. As soon as I post this, I’m going for a four-mile walk.

  • Spiritual. I read a little in the Book of Mormon, specifically the chapters in Mosiah that include King Benjamin’s address. Then a read a few pages about prayer from Norman Vincent Peale’s book, The Power of Positive Thinking. Great stuff.

  • Intellectual. I spent about 50 minutes reading and responding to blogs and to discussions posted by my online students. I’ve done a lot of thinking today too. Does that count?

  • Social/emotional. I met Lisa in Columbia for lunch. Today is her birthday, and I wanted to spend some time with her and give her a cool gift. About that healthy lunch mentioned above, she talked me into sharing a luscious piece of the richest chocolate cake I have ever savored in my life. I felt a little gluttonous until she reminded me that we were celebrating. After parting company, I met my sister Ann and her daughter (Katherine) and granddaughter (Rachel) for some fun shopping at a thrift store with great buys and wonderful feng shui.

I think what’s made the day’s events especially special is the weather and the beauties of the changing seasons. Who can behold the changing leaves, feel the crisp air, and spy the orange pumpkins and not believe there’s a divine Creator?

