Here’s an interesting excerpt from the October 8 Chronicle Independent. In the “Noted and Passed” column, the editors say:

In reading the birth announcements in a recent edition of this newspaper, we noticed something that might have occurred before but which we hadn’t seen: Not a single of the babies listed was born to a married couple. Yes, we know that’s the way it’s happening these days, but it doesn’t make us like it. Kids growing up without a father in the home have sociologically recognized disadvantages that make their route through life more difficult.

I wonder if the editors of the Independent realize the magnitude of this phenomenon. Would they be surprised to learn that one of every four children born in America is to a single mother? When I shared that startling statistic with my husband, he asked me why I used the term “single mother.” I said, “You figure it out, Hon. How many single fathers are taking care of these children?” I know that in many situations, it’s the father who takes responsibility for the child, but most of the time the mother is the primary caregiver, a mother who is often young, financially challenged, uneducated, and so forth.

My earlier background in sociology taught me about cultural universals, traits that are part of every known culture, and one common element among the dozens of universals is the family. Family functions everywhere include the control of sexual reproduction and the care and upbringing of children.

What has happened in the United States? Who’s raising America’s children? What might be some sociological, psychological, emotional, financial, and educational consequences for these children if this trend continues? Yes, I realize that’s a lot of questions. Just pick something and react.

