Yesterday on our Shrink Rapping blog, I posted a few thoughts about how psychology has applications in so many areas of our lives. From disciplining children to motivating employees, this social science offers insight into many of the challenges that confront us daily. As a quick example, I recently had a brief conversation with a man who’s sixtyish (not sure if that’s really a word) who was quite open and upfront about saying that he wished he had more friends. He has a faithful, loving wife and strong family connections, and yet he admitted that sometimes he feels a little pang of envy when he sees other guys hanging out together, laughing and having a good time.

“Well,” I said, “It’s not too late to change that.”

“How? I’m too old to change my ways.”

“No, you’re not. It might sound corny, but today is the first day of the rest of your life. Just being aware that you’d like to change something is the first step…and a good sign.”

“Naw,” he said. “I’ll just stay the way I am.”

Social psychologists have some answers for this man. So might developmental psychologists. While out walking early this morning, the thought crossed my mind that the Bible has a few suggestions for him as well. In fact, it’s funny in a way that we look in self-help books, consult experts, and perhaps even check our daily horoscopes, and yet everything (at least that I can think of) is answered in the scriptures. If not, then at least by reading them, a person can get some ideas about where to look.

By the way, the verse that crossed my mind this morning is Proverbs 18:24. “A man that hath friends must shew himself friendly.” Timeless advice.

