Yesterday I wrote a little something about the prodigal son’s older brother and how he got so angry and resentful when his wayward brother came home to be wined and dined while he, faithful and dutiful, got nothing. While I’d like to think that he got half a fatted calf at some point during his years of conscientious service, I’m not so sure it happened. Still, he had lots of good stuff going on…just like we do.

If we, like the older son, start thinking about how much others have or how favorably fortune seems to shine on them compared to us, we could really begin to feel a bit perturbed just as he did. However, when it comes down to it, we’re pretty fortunate with or without a fatted calf, fancy robe, and big celebrations. I can hear, see, smell, touch, taste a plethora of delightful things. This morning birds were singing, leaves were changing color, and the temperature was in the 70’s (20 degrees lower than a couple of weeks ago). I chatted with some cool people, savored an ice cream cone from Chick fil-A, and listened to some soul-stirring music.

Yes, there’s a lot to be sad and mad and scared about, but there’s a lot to be glad about too. I hope I can remember that the next time I feel myself getting a little resentful or feeling left out. My Father’s been pretty good to me. How about you?

