He’ll probably kid me about it for a while, but one of these days I think Paul will agree that dirt, yes plain old dirt, has miraculous properties. This topic surfaced in a conversation earlier this week in which I asked the children if the days of miracles had ceased. Actually, I TOLD them that the days of miracles had NOT ceased and then proceeded to tell the dirt and weeds story.

It went like this: As I drove into the driveway the other evening, a neighbor who was walking her dog came into the yard and began to talk about all sorts of things ranging from her dog’s earache to our tomato plants in the backyard. As she chatted, I began to pull weeds and grass from in and around the flower beds and then sort of shoved them into a corner behind a shrub. Two days later, I spied the dead, brown, totally dried-up weeds and grass, and it struck me that the only thing different about them that day and two days before was dirt!

I’m no scientist, and I don’t profess to know anything about soil and its properties. All I know is that it’s amazing how something so “dirty” and blah can provide a vital life source for living things. Green and lush or brown and dry often depends on dirt, plain old dirt. Isn’t that miraculous?  

